City Of Lakes-Udaipur Part-III

Good Morning awesomes!! I am back with my Udaipur series!

My third day started with a late note as I got up late in the morning…it was 9:30 am when I got up! (was feeling quiet lazy though) I rushed to get ready as my guide Ram Prakash was already waiting in the lobby & I was feeling so so bad for I kept him waiting. Anyways, I got ready and met with Ram Prakash, he greeted me Morning and I apologized for being late but Ram Prakash just sweetly smiled at me. I ordered breakfast for myself and for Ram Prakash. While having breakfast, Ram Prakash told me about our plan for the rest of the day.He told me that today we’ll be covering Saheliyon ki bari (Courtyard of the Maidens)-which is a place where Queens and Princess used to go for entertainment purpose, then we will attend a Rajasthani puppet show & a museum and 2-3 more things. I couldn’t wait after knowing about the rest of the day plan and quickly galloped my rest of the cheese-sandwich and got up for yet another exciting journey!

As decided our first spot was “Saheliyon-ki-bari”, I was quiet curious to know about this place and couldn’t wait to be there…and aah my wait was over as I was standing on the entry gate of this beautiful yet mysterious for me place.As told by Ram Prakash, let me give you a quick information about this place. Saheliyon Ki Bari is one the most beautiful gardens and a major tourist destination in Udaipur. The garden is famous for its lush green lawns, marble art and fountains. English translation of Saheliyon Ki Bari means “Garden of maids”. This renowned garden is located on the banks of Fateh Sagar Lake, presenting a green retreat in the dry lands of Rajasthan. Garden of maids was built in the 18th century by Maharana Sangram Singh for the royal ladies. I was really excited as I entered there as my guide told me to clap once, I did and to my surprise fountain from both the sides came up!! I was like wow! There I actually felt like a Princess, on whose 1 or 2 claps things will be done….! This place was full of fountains, beautiful garden, lush green area, beautiful flowers and giving you a feeling of being present in a rain forest as there were so many fountains and it was covered with all greens….that was an experience of a lifetime I must say. There is a museum too exhibiting the huge collection of royal households is another attraction of this garden. It has many ancient pictures and things of the bygone period. Sight of stuffed cobras and other animals will definitely add a tint of adventure to your trip. Above all, you can stroll through the shady lawns, where the bunch of bougainvillea will bend down to greet you.The architecture there is superb, crystalloid fountains, pools full of lotus, elephants made out of marble sprinkling water and what not? Today, Saheliyon ki Bari has become the pleasure park for the recreation of Udaipur dwellers.After treating my eyes and mind both over there, I moved on to my next destination.

Merely thinking about puppet-show was making me a kid again! So, I reached at the Bhartiya Lok Kala Museum. This is one of the famous museums of Udaipur. It exhibits brilliant collection of Rajasthani art, culture and other folk articles.The compilation varies from authentic ornaments, puppets, masks, traditional dresses, folk musical instruments and traditional deities and paintings.I personally have a huge interest in different cultures and traditions, so for me it was like I got a treasure under one roof. I tried to get as much information about those things as I could. Rajasthani culture is actually very unique and beautiful, one goes on and on while knowing it.There is a puppet theater too where puppet shows are held.This show started with a traditional song of Rajasthan “Padharo mhare des”. A beautifully dressed female puppet performed over it…oh it was so cute and amazing show…everything was just too cute. I enjoyed it thoroughly! By the time the show got over, it was 3:15 pm almost and it was a time for a good lunch! So I headed towards a good restaurant to enjoy the meal.

After treating myself, now was the time for my next destination….The beautiful Lake Palace! Yes the one which is situated in the middle of the Lake Pichola. It was formerly known as the Jag Niwas Palace, but now it is one of the most luxurious hotels of Udaipur. Speed boat is operated by hotel to transport the guests from a jetty at the City Palace.Since, it is a hotel now so you can visit only certain places here keeping in view the privacy of the guests. I enjoyed the speed boat ride a lot and when I reached this place it was like so so romantic…it was almost evening and this place was looking like a heaven…lighted up golden in the middle of the Lake Pichola…no doubt it has been voted as the most romantic hotel in India and the world! I sat in the porch area quietly and was just glancing at the sky…..it was wonderful. I wanted that moment to never end but as they say time goes on….hence, I moved form there back to my hotel.

This time I ordered my food in my room only and enjoyed it while looking out of the window thinking that tomorrow will be my last day in Udaipur…so wanted to live every moment here and with this note I quietly went into the city of dreams slowly and steadily……

Image                                                                              Saheliyon Ki Bari

Image                                                 Saheliyon Ki Bari

 

Image                                                Bhartiya Lok Kala Museum, Udaipur

Image                                                 Glimpse of the beautiful Puppets

Image                                               Lake Palace, Lounge

 

*Note: Friends, I hope you will enjoy this post and also don’t forget to read the Bid-Adieu Udaipur post!

Leave a Reply

