City Of Lakes-Udaipur Part-II

Good morning Friends! As I promised,I am back with the Part-II of my mesmerizing Udaipur visit.

My second day was very exciting and in that excitement only I got up at 4:30 in the morning and got ready to move out of the boundaries of the hotel to bask in the glory of the Sun which was just moving up in the sky as if the Sun was in a hurry too!! Since I knew that day for other people will start almost at 8:00 am there so I decided to have a walk in the beautiful green & flowery garden of the hotel and trust me friends….it was a really unforgettable experience for me…I mean getting up so early & then walking in that beautiful garden…that was all so exotic! At last, my wait was over and I took the hotel cab to go to a local shop where they offer a local Udaipur-breakfast.The cab took me to a sweet shop- Shri Lala Mishtan, people there told me that it is more than 15yrs old and the Kachoris are a famous part of it. They also call them “Lala ki Kachori”. I was too curious to have a bite of it ( though I knew that am gonna have a too much of calories breakfast but you don’t visit Udaipur daily!) So, I ordered my plate of Kachori and in minutes my Kachori was in front of me….the authentic simple Kachori (quiet spicy) with a punch of tamarind chutney gave me a spark for the rest of the day.I had also heard about the famous Mawa Kachoris of Rajasthan and hence, ordered that also to taste it and O boy….they were so awesome!!! Crispy coat of wheat-flour filled with Khoya (mawa)…just too sweet and delicious!

So, like that I was done with my breakfast & now it was time to visit the famous City Place of Udaipur. Let me just give you a quick information about the City Palace of Udaipur. It is build on the banks of lake Pichola & was build by Maharana Udai Singh. Its highlight is that it is the largest Palace complex in Rajasthan. One can easily reach Udaipur City Palace, either by taking local buses, tongas, auto-rickshaws and taxis from the city.I got spell bounded when I reached over there….it was so beautiful that I can’t describe you.It is one of the architectural marvels of Rajasthan, located peacefully on the banks of lake Pichola.City Palace has several gates which are known as “Pols”.”Bara Pol” (Great Gate) is the main gate to the City Palace complex that will take you to the first courtyard. I was feeling like a Princess as I was entering in to the Palace…the architecture and stone work done there on the walls is so clean and sharp that it looks like it is freshly build.My guide Ram Prakash told me that the City Palace actually comprises 11 beautiful Palaces, which were build by different rulers still they resemble each other!With the sheer glimpse of unique paintings, antique furniture and exquisite glass mirror & ornamental tiles work of these palaces, you will get amazed. Manak Mahal (Ruby Palace) has figures of crystal and porcelain. However, Bhim Vilas flaunts a fabulous collection of miniature paintings depicting the real life stories of Radha-Krishna. The ‘Krishna Vilas’ is known for the noteworthy album of miniature paintings portraying royal processions, festivals and games of the Maharanas. Moti Mahal (Pearl Palace) is celebrated for its lavish decor while Sheesh Mahal (Palace of mirrors) is known for its breathtaking mirror work. ‘Chini Chitrashala’ is renowned for its Chinese and Dutch ornamental tiles. ‘Dilkusha Mahal’ (Palace of Joy) is known for the murals and wall paintings.

Bada Mahal is the exotic garden palace that stands erect on a 90 feet high natural rock formation. Rang Bhawan is the palace that used to contain royal treasure. There are temples of Lord Krishna, Meera Bai and Shiva, located right to the ‘Rang Bhawan’. ‘Mor Chowk’ has exceptional glass mosaics of peacocks, set in the walls presenting the three seasons of summer, winter and monsoon. ‘Laxmi Vilas Chowk’ is an art gallery with a distinctive collection of Mewar paintings.Situated in the premises of City Place complex, Jagdish Temple is the biggest and most beautiful temple of Udaipur. This temple Appeals to the aesthetic sense of the people and we will further discuss it in our other section. You can also trace a Shrine of Dhuni Mata in the complex of City Palace. This part is considered as the oldest part of the Palace where a sage passed his life meditating here. Ram Prakash also told me that In City Palace, the most captivating sight can be viewed from the towers and terraces of ‘Amar Vilas’ from where you can get a breathtaking view of Lake Pichola.

‘Amar Vilas’ is the highest point of this Palace and has wonderful hanging gardens with fountains, towers and terraces. City Palace is structured in a way that it offers a splendid view of the lake from all its Balconies, cupolas and towers. Unlike the craggy exterior, City Palace has amazing interiors with delicate mirror-work, marble work, murals, wall paintings, silver work, inlay work and surplus of colored glass. The exquisite work of City Palace cannot be bounded in words, so one must visit this palace to capture the real picture of it.In total, the City Palace is truly a feast to the eyes. There are some small local shops also from which you can buy souvenirs & gifts for your loved ones; I bought a pair of Rajasthani puppets (kathputli) dressed in red & yellow combination.By this time, it was almost 2:30 pm and I was feeling tired and hungry, so i decided to checkout this time an exotic good restaurant to relax my nerves and to treat my taste-buds.I moved to very famous “The Royal Retreat, resort & spa”. I decided to check-out there Darbar restaurant. The interiors were fantastic and it was actually looking kind of very royal ans luxurious.The tables were beautifully decorated to give that ethnic Rajasthani look.I ordered my food & relished it fully. It was a soothing experience altogether.

Since, I wanted to visit a fort also…my guide told me that you can visit Chittorgarh fort which has received the credit of being the largest fort of India.I decided to visit that only. Chittorgarh Fort lies at a distance of 112 kms from the city of Udaipur in Rajasthan.  . Visiting this fort was a unique experience in itself.You get quite nostalgic by looking at the fort. It is so magnificent and big!The massive fort is located on a high hill near the Gambheri River in Chittorgarh. It actually reminds of the Maharajas, wars and strategies and their politics of that time.As I returned to the city, it was almost 9:45 pm and was very tired after the hectic day, so I decided to have dinner in my hotel only. I went back to my hotel, had food and went to sleep with the dreams of Palace and fort in my eyes and with a desire to know more about Udaipur….

*Note: Friends, in my next post…am gonna share my day-3 experiences of Udaipur city which will consist of a cute puppet-show, “sahelio-ki-baadi” and much more…so don’t forget to check-out!!!

Image                                                      Mawa Kachori

 

 

Image                                                       City Palace-Udaipur

 

Image                                                      Chittorgarh Fort

Leave a Reply

